The Talons

The Hermantown Talons 5232 are a FIRST Robotics (FRC) team from Hermantown, Minnesota. The Talons were a rookie team in 2014 and have competed in the FIRST Robotics Competition every year since. Our program has successfully taught over 100 students useful STEM and life skills via FRC.


Combining the excitement of sport with the rigors of STEM, FIRST® Robotics Competition (ages 14-18) teams use sophisticated technology to build and program industrial-sized robots to play an action-packed, alliance-based game on a themed field.

In CRESCENDO℠ presented by Haas, a new challenge debuting January 6, 2024, FIRST Robotics Competition teams will use their engineering skills and creative power to entertain and move the world.

FIRST Robotics

We call FIRST Robotics Competition the ultimate Sport for the Mind. High-school student participants call it “the hardest fun you’ll ever have.” Under strict rules, limited resources, and an intense six-week time limit, teams of students are challenged to raise funds, design a team “brand,” hone teamwork skills, and build and program industrial-size robots to play a difficult field game against like-minded competitors.

Our Mission: Through the “Varsity Sport for the Mind®”, Hermantown Robotics’ goal is to teach students STEM skills in a fun interactive way.  We strive to provide excellent experiences and valuable life skills to all students who go through our program.